Old Venus Wins Locus Award

June 10, 2016

The science-fiction anthology Old Venus, compiled and edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, won this years Locus award for best anthology.  Last year Martin and Gardner won with another anthology, Old Mars.

old venus

Old Venus and Old Mars are anthologies in the style of retro science fiction space pulps from the 1960’s with all stories included set on each respective planet.


Here is a list of the authors of Old Venus, signed copies available at the Jean Cocteau Cinema Bookstore.

  1. Introduction: Return to Venusport by Gardner Dozois
  2. “Frogheads” by Allen M. Steele
  3. “The Drowned Celestrial” by Lavie Tidhar
  4. “Planet of Fear” by Paul McAuley
  5. “Greeves and the Evening Star” by Matthew Hughes
  6. “A Planet Called Desire” by Gwyneth Jones
  7. “Living Hell” by Joe Haldeman
  8. “Bones of Air, Bones of Stone” by Stephen Leigh
  9. “Ruins” by Eleanor Arnason
  10. “The Tumbledowns of Cleopatra Abyss” by David Brin
  11. “By Frogsled and Lizardback to Outcast Venusian Lepers” by Garth Nix
  12. “The Sunset of Time” by Michael Cassutt
  13. “Pale Blue Memories” by Tobias S. Buckell
  14. “The Heart’s Filthy Lesson” by Elizabeth Bear
  15. “The Wizard of the Trees” by Joe R. Lansdale
  16. “The Godstone of Venus” by Mike Resnick
  17. “Botanica Veneris: Thirteen Papercuts by Ida Countess Rathangan” by Ian McDonald
Posted in News, Other News.
Shoe Inside
© 2024 George R.R. Martin. All rights reserved.